New Jersey Traffic Ticket Defense Attorneys
For many people, getting a traffic ticket is a minor inconvenience which is simply paid and forgotten about. However, many traffic violations can carry penalties which can create further problems down the road. You need an experienced attorney, like the ones at Cores & Associates, to help protect you. Our attorneys are ready to handle these matters. Contact our office to schedule an initial consultation.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) can add points to your driving record for any conviction for a traffic offense. If you collect 12 points in a two-year period or 15 points in more than two years, you are subject to a minimum 30-day driver’s license suspension. You can also receive significant fines and fees and your insurance company will probably raise your premiums for several years. For more serious offenses, you can lose your license and possibly face jail time. If there was an accident, you could even be sued for any injuries or damages. That is why you need an experienced attorney from Cores & Associates to guide you though the minefield of traffic court. Schedule a confidential consultation today to discuss your options.
Types of Traffic Violations
The attorneys at Cores & Associates can assist you with all types of traffic matters. Some of the most common types of tickets include speeding, careless or reckless driving, driving while suspended, driving without insurance and leaving the scene of an accident.
Speeding Tickets: In New Jersey, the penalties for speeding vary depending on the speed and location where you were driving. The basic fines for speeding range from $85 to more than $250, depending on how many miles per hour over the limit you were driving. If you were speeding in certain designated areas, such as a school zone or construction zone, your fines could double.
Reckless and Careless Driving: In New Jersey, careless and reckless driving are separate offenses, depending on the intent of the driver. A driver who does not intend to violate the law, but drives carelessly, will be charged with careless driving. A conviction for careless driving will add 2 points to your driving record.
Reckless driving is a much more serious offense and carries much higher penalties. To be convicted of reckless driving, it must be found that the driving was unsafe and on purpose. Reckless driving carries potential penalties of up to 60 days in jail, a fine of up to $200 and a possible 90-day license suspension, plus 5 points on your driving record. If it is not your first reckless driving offense, the penalties can more than double.
Driving on a Suspended License: Your driver’s license can be suspended for many different reasons. You may have gotten too many points on your driving record, failed to pay insurance, had a conviction for a DUI or reckless driving, or many other reasons. But whatever the reason, if you are found driving on a suspended license, the penalties can be severe. A first offense carries a fine of $500 and an additional suspension of up to 6 months. A second offense includes a fine of $750, a further 6-month suspension and a jail sentence of up to 5 days. Further violations carry a fine of $1,000, up to a one-year additional suspension and 10 days in jail. Depending on the circumstances of the violation, the penalties can be enhanced, up to and including a fourth-degree felony charge. A charge of driving on a suspended license is serious and you need an experienced attorney, like the ones at Cores & Associates, to help you.
Driving Without Insurance: All drivers in New Jersey are required to maintain liability insurance on all vehicles registered or primarily kept in the state. If you operate an uninsured vehicle on any public roadway, and knew or should have known the vehicle was uninsured, you can be cited for driving without insurance. The penalties for driving without insurance are serious. You can be fined up to $1,000 for a first offense, along with having your license suspended for 1 year. Further offenses can lead to up to a $5,000 fine, 14 days in jail and up to 30 days of community service. In addition, the Motor Vehicle Commission can impose a $250 surcharge for 3 years.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident: If you are involved in any motor vehicle accident involving injury, property damage or death in New Jersey, you must stay at the scene and wait for law enforcement to arrive. If you fail to remain at the scene, the penalties are very severe. If the accident involves property damage, you face a $200-$400 fine, 30 days in jail and a six-month license suspension. A subsequent violation can lead to higher fines, more jail time and a one-year suspension.
If the accident involves personal injury, the penalties escalate. A first offense carries a fine of $2,500-$5,000, 180 days in jail and a one-year license suspension, along with 8 points on your driving record.
Fighting Your Tickets
While the penalties for many driving offenses are severe, most tickets given in New Jersey can be easily reduced or dismissed by experienced attorneys, like those at Cores & Associates. There are many defenses to traffic tickets, like an improper investigation, failing to document all the evidence or providing a misleading depiction of the incident. Our attorneys evaluate all aspects of your case and can find flaws in the police case against you which can lead to the ticket being reduced or dismissed. Contact our office to schedule your confidential consultation.
In New Jersey, it is common for municipal prosecutors to plea bargain on traffic tickets, especially if you have multiple tickets. However, it takes a skilled attorney to know whether the deal is proper for your circumstances. The attorneys at Cores & Associates have years of experience in dealing with all types of traffic cases and will work to get you the best resolution.
If you receive a traffic ticket, you need to take immediate action and hire an attorney to evaluate your case. Contact the attorneys at Cores & Associates today.